The following is a press release from an organization unaffiliated with Voice of OC. The views expressed here are not those of Voice of OC.

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 10.41.40 PM

2016/2017 Orange County Grand Jury Selected

Santa Ana, CA – Nineteen Orange County residents were selected to serve on the Orange County Grand Jury for the term that begins July 1. Hon. Charles Margines, Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of Orange County, presided over the May 18 court hearing with Alan Carlson, Chief Executive Officer and Jury Commissioner, randomly pulling cards printed with candidate names from the grand jury box, as required by statute. The new Grand Jury panel is comprised of 13 men and 6 women who range in age from 54 to 78 years old.

More than 140 Orange County residents applied to serve. The 26 judges of the Grand Jury Recruitment/Selection Committee reviewed applications and selected top candidates who were then interviewed by teams of two judges from the committee. Superior Court judges approved the final slate of candidates by a majority vote.

The California Penal Code requires that the Grand Jury be selected by a random drawing of no less than 25 and no more than 30 individuals, who proportionally represent the five supervisorial districts of the County. The first 19 names drawn constitute the Grand Jury, with the remaining individuals selected as alternates in the order drawn. Alternates may be called upon to serve in the event that any acting members cannot complete the one- year term. The grand jurors and alternates will attend a mandatory four-day training program in June.

The 19 members of the newly selected Grand Jury will take the oath of office on July 1 at 10:00 a.m. in Department C1 of the Superior Court of Orange County. The names of the Grand Jury members and alternates are listed on the following page, in the order of their selection.


  1. RobertKuehn
  2. John Smead
  3. KathleenPesqueira
  4. CarrieCarmody
  5. JohnLynes
  6. RichardJohnston
  7. KarenRapien
  8. MichaelLenz
  9. AlanWeston
  10. Dorothy Metcalfe
  11. Stephen Balloch
  12. Peter Riley
  13. Michael Fipps
  14. John Rafter
  15. Wellington Bennett
  16. Alexander Bardia
  17. Megan Hertzberg
  18. Amy Rego
  19. Robert Pease II


  1. PatriciaMalott
  2. DouglasGillen
  3.  SusanKnight
  4.  DaleSoeffner
  5. SvetlanaRamsay
  6.  EarlPagal
  7.  TerriParker
  8.  JohnCallos

Voice of OC posts press releases to provide readers with information directly from organizations. We do not edit or rewrite press releases, and encourage readers to contact the originator of a given release for more information. To submit a press release email

Since you've made it this far,

You are obviously connected to your community and value good journalism. As an independent and local nonprofit, our news is accessible to all, regardless of what they can afford. Our newsroom centers on Orange County’s civic and cultural life, not ad-driven clickbait. Our reporters hold powerful interests accountable to protect your quality of life. But it’s not free to produce. It depends on donors like you.

Join the conversation: In lieu of comments, we encourage readers to engage with us across a variety of mediums. Join our Facebook discussion. Message us via our website or staff page. Send us a secure tip. Share your thoughts in a community opinion piece.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *