The following is a press release from an organization unaffiliated with Voice of OC. The views expressed here are not those of Voice of OC.

May 29, 2018

Orange County Grand Jury Selected

Santa Ana, CA – Nineteen Orange County residents were selected on May 23, 2018, to serve on the Grand Jury for a one-year term that begins when the jurors take the oath of office on June 29.  Hon. Kirk H. Nakamura, Assistant Presiding Judge of the Orange County Superior Court and Chair of the Grand Jury Recruitment and Selection Committee, presided over the proceeding with David Yamasaki, Court Executive Officer and Jury Commissioner, randomly drawing cards printed with the names of the candidates.  The Grand Jury panel is comprised of 14 men and 5 women who range in age from 58 to 76 years old.

More than 150 Orange County residents applied for the upcoming term. The 25 judges of the Grand Jury Recruitment and Selection Committee reviewed applications and selected top candidates who were each interviewed by judges from the committee. Superior Court judges voted to approve the final slate of candidates.

The California Penal Code requires that the Grand Jury be selected by a random drawing of no less than 25 and no more than 30 individuals who proportionally represent the five supervisorial districts of the County. The first 19 names drawn constitute the Grand Jury, with the remaining individuals selected as alternates in the order drawn. Alternates will serve in the event that any members cannot complete the one-year term. The grand jurors and alternates will attend a four-day training program in June.

The newly selected grand jurors will take the oath of office in a public ceremony on June 29 at 10:00 a.m. in Department C1 of the Orange County Superior Court. The names of the grand jurors and alternates are on the following page, listed in order of their selection.


  1. Erin Newman
  2. Frances Williams
  3. Michael Ernandes
  4. Timothy Ogata
  5. Lawrence Gebhardt
  6. Birgit Sale
  7. Eugene Siegel
  8. Stephen Balloch
  9. Janet Pearce
  10. Douglas Gillen
  11. Richard Flower
  12. Lawrence Klementowski
  13. Tedric Beckley
  14. John Saliture
  15. Harry Sloan
  16. Steven Randall
  17. Judith Charm
  18. Judith Stamper
  19. Giridhar Athreya


  1. Elizabeth Kane
  2. Theresa Elders
  3. Jeffords Wong
  4. Charles Cotrell
  5. Barbara Kilponen
  6. Ruby Vanderhoek
  7. Bruce Asper
  8. Teresa Myers-Edwards
  9. Maxine Marcus
  10. James Aube
  11. Mary Johnson


Voice of OC posts press releases to provide readers with information directly from organizations. We do not edit or rewrite press releases, and encourage readers to contact the originator of a given release for more information.

To submit a press release email

Since you've made it this far,

You are obviously connected to your community and value good journalism. As an independent and local nonprofit, our news is accessible to all, regardless of what they can afford. Our newsroom centers on Orange County’s civic and cultural life, not ad-driven clickbait. Our reporters hold powerful interests accountable to protect your quality of life. But it’s not free to produce. It depends on donors like you.

Join the conversation: In lieu of comments, we encourage readers to engage with us across a variety of mediums. Join our Facebook discussion. Message us via our website or staff page. Send us a secure tip. Share your thoughts in a community opinion piece.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *