Press Releases
Voice of OC posts press releases as a way of providing readers with information directly from businesses, cities, county and state agencies, political organizations and nonprofits. We do not edit or rewrite press releases. We allow readers to comment on releases, and we encourage readers to contact the originator of a given release for more information. To submit a press release email engagement editor Julie Gallego at

Joel Zlotnik (714) 560-5713 Sept. 24, 2015
Eric Carpenter (714) 560-5697

Members take part in transportation-related discussions and projects with their peers and OCTA staff

ORANGE – Eighteen high school students have been selected to serve on the Orange County Transportation Authority’s 2015-16 Teen Council, which held its first meeting this month.

Teen Council members take part in transportation-related discussions and projects with their peers and OCTA staff. Members provide insight into public transportation issues, and work together to make a positive contribution toward public transportation in Orange County.

The 2014-15 Teen Council, for example, provided key feedback that helped OCTA craft its “De-Zombify Yourself” summer youth bus pass campaign.

Teen Council selection is competitive; members serve for one year. The group meets once a month during the regular school year, from September to August.

Listed here are the names and cities of residence for 2015-16 Teen Council members.

For more on the program, visit

Orange County Transportation Authority’s 2015-16 Teen Council members:

· Abiral “Abe” Ganguly, Orange

· Amrit Singh, Tustin

· Andrew (AJ) Takata, Dana Point

· Anuli Ononye, Mission Viejo

· Bethany Urbano, Santa Ana

· Brian Wilbert Legaspi, Buena Park

· (Returning member) Emily Yoo, Aliso Viejo

· Gabriela Jimenez, Costa Mesa

· (Returning member) Ian Macdonald, Huntington Beach

· Joshua Swank, Aliso Viejo

· (Returning member) Michael Du Jiang, Irvine

· (Returning member) Natalie Wang, Irvine

· Rachel Li, Irvine

· Sarah Babcock, Huntington Beach

· Sean Spencer, Rancho Santa Margarita

· (Returning member) Shipla Rajagopal, Irvine

· Sydney Roberta Smith, Rancho Santa Margarita

· Timonthy Chen, Irvine

Since you've made it this far,

You are obviously connected to your community and value good journalism. As an independent and local nonprofit, our news is accessible to all, regardless of what they can afford. Our newsroom centers on Orange County’s civic and cultural life, not ad-driven clickbait. Our reporters hold powerful interests accountable to protect your quality of life. But it’s not free to produce. It depends on donors like you.

Join the conversation: In lieu of comments, we encourage readers to engage with us across a variety of mediums. Join our Facebook discussion. Message us via our website or staff page. Send us a secure tip. Share your thoughts in a community opinion piece.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *